IMG_7996 copy

Jon Yu (b. 1988) is a Taiwanese-American composer whose works explore notions of ritual, utility, and excess. His music has been performed in Germany, Singapore, and throughout the United States by ensembles and soloists such as Mivos Quartet, Wet Ink Ensemble, Ensemble SurPlus, Ensemble Signal, Eco Ensemble, Earplay, Transient Canvas, clarinetist Matt Ingalls, and haegeum player Soo Yeon Lyuh. His works have been programmed at festivals such as June in Buffalo (2014), Dian Red Kechil International Young Composers Residency (2015), Walden School Composers Forum (2014), SICPP (2016), Darmstadt Ferienkurse (2016), Pacific Rim Music Festival (2017), IRCAM’s ManiFeste (2018), and Festival Musica (2018). He was also the recipient of the 2017 Mivos/Kanter Prize. Upcoming projects include a vocal sextet for the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart.

Jon holds degrees from UC Santa Cruz and San Francisco State University, and is currently pursuing his PhD in composition at UC Berkeley. His principal teachers have been Franck Bedrossian, Ken Ueno, Edmund Campion, Richard Festinger, and Benjamin Sabey. He has also participated in master classes and private lessons with Steven Takasugi, Rebecca Saunders, Klaus Lang, and Ming Tsao. For the upcoming academic year 2018-19, Jon will be in residence in Paris as a fellow of the George Ladd Prix de Paris.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s